The OET test

What is the OET Test?

The OET test assesses only fluency in the English language for overseas qualified health professions. It consists of four modules Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. The test-taker has to score a minimum of grade-B in each skill to satisfy professional boards requirements.

The maximum time limit for the test is 3 hours and the test is conducted 6 times in 40 locations all around the world per year. The OET test is valid for 2 years from the date the test is taken.


To migrate and work in Australia the OET test is essential for various health professions. If you fall under any of the following professions, you qualify to take the test:

  • Medical Practitioners (GPs and Specialists)
  • Dentists
  • Vets
  • Nurses
  • Radiographers
  • Dieticians
  • Speech pathologists
  • Pharmacists
  • Physiotherapists
  • Related medical professions

As per the requirements of AMC (Australian Medical Council), the test-taker has to pass in all the modules in one sitting. Typically the four modules fall into two categories.



OET Test Dates for 2014

Saturday 18 January

Saturday 22 February

Saturday 29 March

Saturday 03 May

Sunday 01 June

Saturday 05 July

Saturday 09 August

Saturday 13 September

Sunday 18 October

Saturday 29 November


test dates
health professionals
free materials